

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of Risca Town Council

Held on Monday 15 May 2017 at 6.30 pm at Bethany Baptist Church Hall, Tredegar Street, Risca

Present: Cllr Michael Parker, Cllr Tony Davies, Cllr Sally Davies, Cllr Hazel Dupre, Cllr Louise Stephens, Cllr Brian Hancock (Vice Mayor) and Cllr Joy Parsons. Clerk/Proper Officer: Robert Campbell

The meeting commenced at 6.30 pm

1. Appointment of a Chairperson/Mayor of the Council

Cllr Louise Stephens was elected to be Mayor for the ensuing year 2017/18. Resolved

2. Appointment of a Vice Chairperson/Vice Mayor

Cllr Brian Hancock was re-elected to be Vice Mayor for the ensuing year 2017/18. Resolved

3. Apologies

None

4 Declarations of Interest

There were no declarations of interests

5 Minutes

The minutes of the AGM held on 9 May 2016 that were signed on 13 June 2016 were duly noted. Resolved

6 Standing Orders 2017/2018

The Council's Standing Orders for the ensuing year were adopted. Resolved

7 Policy Documents 2017/2018

The Policy Document for 2017/18 was adopted with the following amendment:

At policy number 9, on Telephones the wording was changed to:

The Council will fund the use of a mobile phone for the clerk to include the use of emails, texting and calls for council business up to £50.00 per month

The following cost updates were noted:

At policy number 7, Members' annual allowance is raised to £150 in line with One Voice Wales and The Independent Remuneration Panel's recommendations

At policy number 13, the clerk's petty cash imprest is raised to £50.00 per year.

The Financial Regulations Policy, The Social Media Policy, The Model Local Resolution Protocol and the Risk Assessment/Asset List documents were adopted for 2017/18. Resolved

8 Appointment of Representatives to Outside Bodies

The following Members were agreed for the ensuing year of 2017/2018:

- Community & Town Councils Liaison Committee
 Cllr B Hancock, Cllr H Dupre and Bob Campbell
- CCBC's Community & Town Council Joint Liaison Committee
 Cllr B Hancock (Cllr H Dupre as reserve) and Bob Campbell
- One Voice Wales

Cllr M Parker (as area Executive member) and Cllr B Hancock

- SLCC Bob Campbell
- Minor Authority Representation on the Board of Governors at:

1/ Risca Primary School - Mrs Ffion Green/Cllr H Dupre

2/ Ty Isaf Infants School - Cllr M Parker

3/ Ysgol Cwm Gwyddon - Cllr B Hancock

Cllr J Parsons, Cllr B Hancock and Bob Campbell
 Risca Town and Risca East Community Council Joint Project Committee
All Councillors and Clerk are members of this Committee. Resolved
Cycle of Meetings for 2017/18
The suggested and discussed cycle of meetings were agreed. Resolved
The meeting closed at 7.05 pm
Signed : Dated :

Town Centre Management Group

9